top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

What Kate Spade Meant to Me...


(Here I am at the Kate Spade flagship store on Madison Ave, New York.)

By now you have heard of the untimely and tragic death of American designer, Kate Spade. One would have to try very hard NOT to see her influence and/or brand. She was the style icon of whimsical luxury for many years. She was most notable for her handbags, but her brand extended everywhere from fashion to home goods.

To me (and probably many other women), her brand represented something special. I still remember the first Kate Spade bag I ever purchased. I felt like somehow I had made it. I was doing well enough in life to purchase a good quality, status bag. (Shallow I know, but gosh they are pretty...) I was a real, classy, grown-up with that purse. How many of you can relate?

Of course, I did not know Kate Spade, but she inspired me in so many ways, as I am sure she did countless others. You see, when I saw her, I saw a glimmer of what I could possibly achieve with my own dream. She gave me something to believe in. A role model. She was fashionable, hard-working, and so, so classy without ever being boring.

She was a midwest girl who worked hard at her full-time job all the while designing her first collection. We all know where that leads us... Her personal style and design aesthetic was quirky and joyful with a dash of vintage, but never too over the top. She gave me a style to admire and emulate before I even knew how to put into words or action.

Because of her, I believe that my own little version of feminine, casual style can be successful and speak to women as long as I stick to my own personal vision. Kate provided a formula (albeit, large scale) for success that included having a strong vision, point of view, hard work, and style. Many succeed, but few do so with such flair as Kate.

In late January of 2018, my sister-in-law and I took a stroll through the flagship store on Madison Ave, New York. For me, it was more than a shopping trip. Because It is more than a store. No detail of elegance is overlooked on any of the 4 stories. (Yes, I said 4.) In my opinion, few stores are able to capture the essence of a brand/person, in brick and mortar. I am still not entirely convinced that I didn't enter a dream world of color and design....Thank goodness I bought my giant pearl chandelier earrings so I have proof that it actually happened!

This loss is sad, as losses most often are. I fear anything else I try to write about a woman I didn't know will sound crass or trite, so I will leave it here. Thank you Kate for allowing me to catch the slightest glimpse into the possibilities of style and a dream. I know you must have struggled with demons, but a store-owner in small town, MN greatly admired you more than you will ever know.

Love,

S


bottom of page