top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle

My Perfect Day Boutique-Hopping in Downtown Mankato, MN (As Told by the Owner of One of the Stores)

(Image Source: Visitgreatermankato.com)

I feel like that in the past couple of years there has been this gravitation away from malls and shopping centers. The pull seems to be toward boutiques and other unique shopping destinations. Even where Mr. Rose and I eat has changed. We never seem to eat at the big dining chains, but rather at the family owned type of establishments. And I don't think it's just us. I hear from many other people that their shopping and dining habits have shifted.

I covered this topic a bit in a previous blog post, so in this piece, I am going to highlight my perfect day of boutique-hopping in Mankato. (Yes, it's going to be a bit biased, but hopefully not too much.) There is a lot of good stuff that you don't want to miss!

(Note: Mankato has a TON of amazing offerings all over the city. For the sake of this article, I am going to keep the list to just downtown/Riverfront.)

My Perfect Day Shopping Small in Mankato

Morning:

1. Stop into Bluebird Cakery Kato and grab a coffee and pastry. Enjoy the beautiful decor.

2. Since it's right there, I am going to stop into Primp.

(Image Source: Vivian Rose Boutique)

3. Get into car and drive over to Vivian Rose Boutique, which is located in the Union Train Depot Building! (Let's pretend I am not the owner.)

4. After VRB, I am going to load my goodies in the car and walk behind the Depot to admire the mural.

5. Continue short drive down Riverfront and park the car so I can explore: Salvage Sisters (locally soured goods and really unique items) , The Dork Den (they have awesome board games and my family loves a new game), and Encore (a consignment store)

Afternoon:

6. Lunch at Friesen's and don't forget to get a cookie. (Maybe grab a treat for Mr. Rose.)

7. Continue down Riverfront to Graif Clothing and Sticks and Stones.

Break:

(Image Source: Mankatofamilyfun.com)

8. Grab a pick-me-up treat at Mom and Pop's Ice Cream Shop

9. I don't want this sugar-high to end. Grab a coffee or tea at The Coffee Hag or Curiosi-Tea House. Use this time to admire my "gets" and make sure that I have left no stone unturned.

Bonus Round: (Be sure to check these sites. These places both have unique hours/weekends of operation.)

*Check out Mankato Vintage Market for some unique furniture -either for the store or home.

*Whimsy and Weathered for gifts and more home decor!

Dinner:

(Image Source: Onlyinyourstate)

10. Meet Mr. Rose at our favorite pizza place, Pagliai's. (It's the best. Seriously. Read about it here!)

What does your favorite day of shopping small look like?

Love,

s


bottom of page